Faculty appointments, retirements and more

Ag Experiment Station director named

Daniel Scholl has been named associate dean and director of the Agricultural Experiment Station effective August 22.

Since 2002, Scholl has been scientific director of the Canadian Bovine Mastitis Research Network and on the faculty of veterinary medicine at the University of Montreal.

Prior to that, he spent ten years in research and instruction at Louisiana State University.


Trautman appointed SDSU Extension associate director

Karla Trautman was appointed in May as associate director of SDSU Extension.

Trautman had been serving as Extension program leader for community and leadership development.

In that role, she supervised the Extension Horizons Program, which worked with forty-three South Dakota communities, engaging 980 citizens in leadership training and involved nearly 3,900 citizens in local strategic planning leading to economic development.

Trautman began her career in Extension twenty-three years ago as a family and consumer sciences educator in Deuel County.


Former music head Johnson honored

Corliss Johnson, former music department head, received the Lifetime Achievement Award from the South Dakota Bandmasters Association and the Distinguished Service Award from the South Dakota High School Activities Association this spring.

Johnson served on the SDSU faculty for thirty-three years, retiring in July 2005, when he was honored as professor emeritus. During his career he served as an adjudicator for all-state band for twenty-seven years. He also judged all-state orchestra for nine years and all-state jazz band for ten years.


Hatfield to hall of fame

Warren Hatfield was inducted into the Jazz Hall of Fame at the University of Northern Iowa School of Music April 22.

Hatfield earned his bachelor’s degree in music from Northern Iowa in 1952. He was a thirty-three year member of the SDSU Music Department faculty and department head from 1967 to 1993.

Hatfield retired in 1993 and now lives in Phoenix, where he is a freelance performer, arranger, clinician, and private studio instructor. He is the musical director of a ten-piece band, “deja vu”, and has recorded three CDs.

His most recent CD, Smile, received seven nominations in four categories for the 50th Grammy Awards in 2008.


Former AD remembered

Axel Bundgaard, who served as athletic director and the department head in Health, Physical Education and Recreation, died April 14, 2011, in Burnsville, Minnesota. He served SDSU from 1961 to 1965.

He spent the remainder of his career as AD and department head at St. Olaf College in Northfield, Minnesota, retiring in 1986. He was known for his ballroom dance classes and development of the dance department there.

He also was a successful basketball coach at Wartburg College in Waverly, Iowa, prior to his tenure at State.


Faculty retirements

The following faculty retired after the spring semester unless listed otherwise:

• Robert Baer, a professor in dairy science, after twenty-nine years;

• Don Berg, a professor in geography, after twenty-one years;

• Jerry DeWald, an instructor in engineering technology and management, after seven years;

• Joyce Fjelland, an assistant professor in nursing, in December 2010 after fourteen years;

• David German, research associate III in agricultural and biosystems engineering, in December 2010 after thirty-two years;

• David Gleim, dean of libraries, after four years;

• Elizabeth Gorham, an associate professor in family and youth development, Cooperative Extension Service, after twelve years;

• Nels Granholm, a distinguished professor in global studies and biology, after forty-one years;

• Bob Hall, a professor in plant science, after twenty-nine years;

• James Heine, an instructor in economics, after three years;

• Patricia Joffer, an associate professor in rural sociology, in December 2010 after eight years;

• Jerry Jorgensen, dean of the College of Arts & Sciences and professor in communication studies and theatre, after thirty years;

• Linda Kropenske, an associate professor in undergraduate nursing, after twenty-two years;

• Dan Landes, associate dean of the College of Arts & Sciences and an English professor, after eight years;

• Martha Landes, community coordinator with the Horizons program, Cooperative Extension Service, after four years;

• Colleen Mann, an assistant professor with West River Nursing, after seventeen years;

• David Mathews, an instructor in engineering technology and management, after eleven years;

• Becky Mauer, an instructor in undergraduate nursing, after sixteen years;

• Alan R. May, an area management specialist in economics, in December 2010 after thirty-one years;

• Lon Moeller, department head in undergraduate teacher education, after thirty years;

• Richard Nicolai, an associate professor in agricultural and biosystems engineering, in January after eight years;

• Ray Peterson, a professor in the theater program, after forty years;

• Diane Rickerl, associate dean of grad school and a professor in plant science after twenty-five years;

• Larry Rogers, professor in undergraduate teacher education, in December 2010 after sixteen years;

• David Schingoethe, a distinguished professor in dairy science, after forty-two years;

• Russ Stubbles, a professor in horticulture, forestry, landscape and parks, after twenty-two years;

• Harriet Svec, an associate professor in computer science, and Harvey Svec, an instructor in engineering technology and management, both after seventeen years;

• Lani White, a nursing instructor, after twelve years.

Leave a Reply