Class Notes


Amanda Mitzel ’03 and Billy DeVries – September 01, 2012. Amanda is employed in the Watertown School District. Billy is employed at Prairie Lakes Healthcare System. The couple owns and operates Ultimate Kicks in Watertown. They live in Watertown, SD.

Andrea “Andi” L. Mueller ’05 and Greg Litton – June 1, 2013. Andrea is a nurse at Regional Health. Greg is a trust officer for BankWest. They live in Rapid City, SD.

Erica Anshutz ’10 and Jason Lieske – June 15, 2013. Erica is a teacher and volleyball coach for the Lead Deadwood School District. Jason is a manager at Midwest Insulation West. They live in Whitewood, SD.

Jayme Reiners ’11 and Thomas Rohlck ’11 – March 16, 2013. Jayme is employed at SmileQuest dental office. Thomas works for Ducks Unlimited. They live in Devils Lake, ND.

Jocelin Joseph MS ’12 and Prenil Poulose MS ’10 – June 22, 2013. Jocelin is a research associate at Wistar Research Institute. Prenil is a business consultant at SAP in NJ. They live in Philadelphia, PA.

Kayley Mittleider ’12 and Andrew Cartmill ’11 – June 1, 2013. Kayley is the administrator of the Good Samaritan Society in Selby. Andrew is employed with Ritter Farms in Mound City. They live in Selby, SD.

Lynn M. Stoneburner ’03 and Robert Mesteth – September 7, 2013. Lynn is an attorney. Robert is a plumber. They live in West Fargo, ND.


Brooke (Guthmiller) ’05 and John ’04 Sydow, a girl, Summer Rae, born July 8th, 2012. John is a project manager for Mills Construction. Brooke is an instructor for University College at SDSU. They live in Brookings, SD.

Chelsey (Van De Berg) ’09 and Cody ’09 Schelling, a girl, Callie Jo, born December 24, 2012. Chelsey is the human resource director at Dakota Plains Ag Center LLC. Cody farms and manages Schelling Feedlots. They live in Armour, SD.

Heather (Lund)’07 and Ryan ’08 Trasamar, a boy, Lincoln Thomas, born May 19, 2013. They live in Sioux Falls, SD.

Holly (Boomsma) ’03 and Mark Lehmkuhl, a boy, Dominic, born February 22, 2013. Holly is a bridge engineer for George Butler Associates. Mark is a procurement manager for Kiewit Energy. They live in Sioux City, IA.

Katelynn M. (Rohlik) ’09 and Joel Goche, a girl, Madison Grace, born May 8, 2013. They also have a daughter, Erika Faith, born March 15, 2010. Katelynn is a registered nurse at Redwood Area Hospital. They live in Redwood Falls, MN.


Lowell Bowne ’68 recently retired after 40 years as an ADE engineer and inspector in the nuclear power industry. He lives in Clark, SD.

George M. Kiner ’69 has completed a biography of Jim Marking’s varsity coaching career at Hayti, Watertown, and SDSU. Contact for copies of “A Path Well Traveled.”  Kiner lives in Volga.

Sarah M. Schaeffer ’69 was inducted into the Kansas Teachers Hall of Fame on June 1, 2013. She lives in Doge City, KS.

Kendra K. (Ferwerda) Kattelmann ’77 is the first dietitian from the state of South Dakota to receive the Excellence in Practice – Dietetic Research Award from the Academy of Nutrition and Dietetics. She lives in Brookings, SD.

Delvin DeBoer ’78 was selected as the recipient of the 2013 Abel Wolman Award of Excellence by the American Water Works Association at its 2013 Annual Conference and Exposition held June 9-13, 2013. He lives in West Fargo, ND.

Steve Linstrom ’79 had his first novel, “The Last Ram,” published by North Star Press in June 2013. He lives in Marshall, MN.

Robert B. Swanson ’81 was named 2013 Senior Citizen of the Year in May for his decades of volunteer and community service. He lives in Pueblo, CO.

Jeff Miller ’83, PMP, director of project management at Interstates Control Systems Inc. has received the Control System Integrators Association’s Charlie Bergman Award at the 2013 Executive Conference held May 1-4, 2013. He lives in Harrisburg, SD.

Donna J. Moenning ’84 is the new senior program manager for CMA Consulting. She lives in Hayfield, MN.

Allan M. Stratman ’85 is the new director of facilities at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign.

Chuck A. Ritter ’92 has been appointed president of consulting of Point B, a management consulting and venture investment firm. He lives in Hinsdale, IL.

Eric J. Lochridge ’98 announces the publication of “Real Boy Blues,” his second collection of poetry. He lives in Bellingham, WA.

Justin M. Weiss ’98/PharmD ’00 is the new VP of pharmacy operations at Superior Health Plan. He lives in Austin, TX.

Matthew J. Gunderson ’01, foundation executive vice president, has been appointed the new director of Ak-Sar-Ben’s City Rodeo & Stock Show. He lives in Gretna, NE.

Raymond A. Harris ’03 has joined Bernick, Omer, Radner & Oullette, P.C. as an associate attorney. He lives in Holt, MI.


1936 Emmett B. Myhre

1936 Gladys (Johnson) Atherton

1938/MS ’52 Merton L. Meinicke

1942 Doane Mortenson (Aggie)

1942 Doris J. (Hinckley) Voigt

1942 Ralph Mack (Aggie)

1945 Dorothy (Gibson) Anderson

1945 Gerald A. Williams

1946 Marjorie M. (Mann) Neilson

1947 Duane Mcdowell

1947 Stanley M. Kvinge

1948 Aaron N. Rogness

1948 Frank L. Base

1948 Lowell J. Endahl

1948 Ray H. De Kramer

1950 Carol J. (Olson) Vind

1950 Gordon F. Nielsen

1951 Norman O. Scobey

1952 Donald R. Conway

1952 Robert T. Raymond

1953 W. Ralph Trevillyan

1955 Elaine B. (Eidem) Hogseth

1955 F. Donald Lindner

1955 Marlin “Mike” B. Radtke

1958 Dewey L. Folkestad

1958 Louis W. Derscheid

1959 Carol A. (Truckenmiller) Fleming

1960 Norman A. Fauske

1961 Robert C. Lowe

1963 (MEd) Ralph E. Moose

1967 Thomas D. Atkins

1968 Harriet M. (Craig) Kurtz

1968 Jerauld J. Kayle

1970 Stephan R. Bergan

1973 James A. Kimball

1975 Delma M. (Register) Chamberlain

2004 Wayne J. Pietz

2009 John D. Enke

Denise M. Peterson (Faculty)

Norman A. Koehn (Faculty)

Robert Klumb (Faculty)

1 Comment

  1. Kenneth Hellevang at

    Hellevang Awarded Highest Professional Honor

    Ken Hellevang was named an American Society of Agricultural and Biological Engineers (ASABE) Fellow, which is the ASABE’s highest honor with no more than 0.2 (2/10) percent of the organization’s active members granted the grade of Fellow annually. Hellevang, an Extension agricultural engineer and professor in the Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering Department at North Dakota State University, received the recognition on July 23 during the ASABE Annual International Meeting in Kansas City, Missouri.

    The ASABE recognizes a member of unusual professional distinction as a Fellow for his or her extraordinary qualifications and experience in agricultural, food or biological systems engineering. Hellevang was honored for his contributions worldwide in crop postharvest engineering, structures and indoor environmental engineering, flooding preparation and recovery, energy efficiency.

    He has conducted research on grain drying and storage topics, including moisture content changes in stored grain during the summer, drying and storing dry edible beans, air temperature increases due to grain drying and aeration fans, and aeration duct design. In addition to providing education and technical assistance on grain drying and storage across the country, Hellevang is co-chair of the national Extension Disaster Education Network’s flooding team, which provides and coordinates education and assistance to university personnel across the U.S.; chair of the national eXtension group that provides educational technical assistance to the public on flooding-related topics; and NDSU Extension’s resource person for mold topics and structural flooding.

    Hellevang holds B.S. and M.S. degrees from South Dakota State University and a Ph.D. from NDSU.

Leave a Reply