Class Notes


Mary Gebhart ’98 and Tyler Omoth ’97 – September 10, 2011. They live in Burnsville, MN.

April Boesch ’04 and Mitchell Pontrelli ’09 – September 27, 2011. The live in St. Paul, MN.

Kimberly Walz ’08 and Scott Sheehan – April 9, 2011. Kimberly is a personal banking officer for Great Western Bank. Scott is a commercial sales rep for C & B Operations. They live in Gettysburg.

Krista Tatsumi ’10 and Paul Honermann ’09 – June 4, 2011. They live in Luverne, MN.


Troy ’93 and Janele (Harriman)’96 Untiedt, a girl, Stevie Grace, born September 1, 2009. They own Body Balance Fitness in Lakefield, MN.

Doug ’98 and Amber Brinkhous, a girl, Reese Mariee, born October 12, 2011. Doug is a mechanical engineer at Dur-A-Lift Inc. in George, IA. They live in Larchwood, IA.

Jessica ’10 (Rath) and Austin Frain ’10, a boy, Tracen Todd, July 6, 2011. They live in Harrisburg.


Wesley H. Ruth ’36 was interviewed on SD Public Radio as a Pearl Harbor survivor on the 70th anniversary of the event. He lives in Matthews, NC.

Evelyn W. Kruger MEd ’70 has written a book titled Revolutionary Rose – Boston Tea to Boston Free. Published by Old Line Publishing in July 2011. She lives at Cocoa Beach, FL.

David L. Bauer ’74 has been hired as senior project manager at Advanced Engineering & Environmental Services, Inc. (AE2S). AE2S has expanded its Williston, ND, office to include the Western Area Water Supply Project.He lives in Williston, ND.

Kathryn R. (Richter) Bechen ’80 has written her first book, Small Space Organizing: A Room – by – Room Guide to Maximizing Your Space. It is available from Revell Books, Baker Publishing Group. Bechen also blogs about timely lifestyle topics at She lives in San Diego, CA.

Patricia S. (Muth) Wheeler ’84 had seven students partake in the Student Spaceflight Experiments Program. Those students had an experiment on NASA’s last shuttle launch, Atlantis. She lives in Ida Grove, IA.

Charles W. Knofczynski ’90 graduated in June 2011 with a master’s degree from the Industrial College of the Armed Forces, National Defense University, located in Washington, D.C. On August 1, 2011, Knofczynski was promoted to Colonel. He lives in Springfield, VA.

Jonathan P. Davis ’91 graduated in June 2011 with a master’s degree from the Industrial College of the Armed Forces, National Defense University, in Washington, DC. On August 1, 2011, Davis was promoted to Colonel. He lives Springfield, VA.

Jamie L. (Benson) Schmidt, P.E., ’97 has been named among the Control Engineering Leaders Under 40 class of 2011. She lives in George, IA.

Dr. Brenda (Johnson) Mammenga ’02/MS ’04, assistant professor of mathematical sciences at Morningside College received the 2011 Sharon Walker Faculty Excellence Award on Dec 10, 2011. The award includes a $10,000 honorarium and $3,000 to use for faculty development. She lives in Sioux City, IA.

Sarah M. Bartels ’04 is the new director of the Women’s Center for Sanford Aberdeen Medical Center. She lives in Aberdeen.

Derek M. Herren ’04/MS ’08 is now a Ph.D. student at Oklahoma State University and has been awarded a U.S. Environmental Protection Agency STAR Graduate Fellowship to support his dissertation research. He lives in Stillwater, OK.

Colleen (Zwieg) Poindexter ’06/MS ’09 has written a book titled Brookings. It is a pictorial history of Brookings; available at and Arcadia Publishing. She lives in Brookings.

Jennifer (Stahl) Wagenaar ’06 is the new director of Medical, Surgical and Pediatric Services for Sanford Aberdeen Medical Center. She lives in Aberdeen.


1943 Phyllis E. (Peterson) Schock

1972 (MEd) Cynthia R. (Wosje) Goodwin

1931 Louise (Morgan) Fleeger Snee

1931 Marvis R. Williams

1934 Roger V. Bigham

1938 Arthur H. Davis

1939 Helen M. (Peterson) Grafius

1939 Maynard G. Lintvedt

1940 Edgar F. Weiss (Aggie)

1941 Andrew W. Bogue

1943 Curtis E. Kurtz

1943 Kathryn (Knutson) Henning

1944 John L. Noordsy

1946 Dorcas E. Koerner

1947 Donald L. Swanson

1947 Lois F. (Lee)(Kenison) McDonald

1948 Dorothy I. (Ullyot) Crouse

1948 Franklin L. Fite

1948 John B. Glaus

1948 Lavonne J. (Holt) Heimlich

1948 Roy L. Shelton

1949 Aloysius H. Meyer

1949 Gordon R. Keeton

1949 Lyle F. McCormick

1949 Raymond E. Chard

1949 Shirley A. (Stewart) Donahue

1949 William “Bill” R. Groseclose

1949/MS ’57 Ernest W. Wingen

1950 Charles “Bob” R. Kennedy

1950 John A. Wennblom

1950 Kenneth R. Herbert

1950 Lee G Bjorkman

1950 Raymond T. Running

1951 Arlo P. Clemensen

1951 Earl J. Noren

1951 Patricia L. (Raymond) Griffith

1951 Rodney C. Dodge

1952 Bernard “Doc” W. Donelan

1952 David R. Evans

1952 George W. Leibel

1952 Lyle A. McLellan

1953 Bernard H. Uthe

1953 Eldon J. Dvorak

1953 Patricia R. (Holdhusen) Arhelger

1953 Walter M. Ring

1956 Dorothy Quail Hanson

1956 Myron “Bud” W. Larsen

1957 Charles T. Claussen

1957 (MS) Frank E. Williams

1958 Arnold “Dave” D. Alstad

1958 Clarence “Ray” R. Payne

1958 Clarence R. Williams

1958 Thomas W. Enright

1958 Wayne E. Moore

1959 Darlene A. (Larson) Revell

1959 James J. Foy

1959 Kirby L. Kleffmann

1959 Stanley P.D. Peterson

1960 Alan F. Lohr

1962 Karen L. (Karnes) Rossow

1962 (MS) Leslie W. Peterson

1964 Donald A. Kaberna

1964 Fremon L. Bowne

1964 Thelma E. (Eggen) Travis

1966 Curtis D. Greenfield

1966 Joel W. Stangeland

1967 Donald G. Brekke

1967 Joan (Jorgenson) Jacobsen

1967/MEd ’70/MS ’83 Bernice R. (Richter) Metcalf

1968 (MEd) George P. Fuerst

1969 Jon M. Lincoln

1970 (MS) Clyde A. Kirkbride

1970 O. Lynn Blankenship

1971 (MS) Carol J. Nygaard

1971 (MS) Gretchen A. (Bye) DeWall

1972 Mary E. Boehnke

1973 Richard M. Dohrer

1974 Beverly J. (Green) Machacek

1974 Darrel D. Van Liere

1974 Elaine R. (Zandt) Nelson

1975 Linda G. (Austin) Jensen

1975 (MEd) Ronald A. Ronshaugen

1976 Virgil F. Geary

1978 Ingrid Brakss

1978 Steven L. Boisen

1979 Brian R. Blake

1981 Debra L. (Halbur) Vierhuf

1981 (MS) Nancy P. Skyberg

1981 Thomas B. Wolff

1985 (MEd) Delilia R. Weber

1988 Corinna M. Wahl Brancio

1993 David M. Serfas

1995 Becky Jo (Stahl) Fortune

1995 H. Duane Jackson

1995 (MS) Angela A. Quinn-Estes

1997 Martin D. Johnson

1998 Linda J. Osantowski

2001/MEd ’02 Brian L. Ruhd

2004 Jenny N. Bresson

Lester D. Schoffelman (Faculty)

Leave a Reply