Class News


Joe Roby ’08/Pharm.D. ’10 and Tessa Haggerty – Feb. 24, 2014. Both Joe and Tessa are employed at Rapid City Regional Hospital. They live in Rapid City.
Sarah Trigg ’08 and Travis Munson – June 14, 2014. Sarah is an intellectual property legal administrative assistant at Fredrikson & Byron in Minneapolis. Travis is a senior security analyst with DeCare Dental of Minnesota. They live in Apple Valley, Minnesota.
Briana Wirth ’10 and Dan Hanson ’09/MS ’12 – May 31, 2014. Briana is in the Denver Seminary Master’s of Counseling Program. Dan is a 7th-grade science teacher. They live in Aurora, Colorado.
Jamie Dykstra ’12 and Tanner Fitzke ’10 – July 27, 2013. Jamie just received a degree from the University of Minnesota and is now a certified orthoptist. Tanner is an engineer for the South Dakota Department of Transportation. They live in Pierre.
Courtney Fodness ’12 and Andy Blenner ’12 – Oct. 19, 2013. Courtney is a field adviser for The Maschhoffs. Andy is farming back on his family’s century farm, which includes crops and cattle. They live in Schaller, Iowa.
Marissa Granstra ’12 and Eric Marten – May 24, 2014. Marissa is a nursing instructor at Minnesota West. Eric works at Carl’s Farm Store. They live in Adrian, Minnesota.


Paula (Olson) ’01 and David Lawhead adopted a boy, Elijah, born Nov. 13, 2013. The adoption was finalized Oct. 14, 2014. Paula is a pastor at St. Peter’s Lutheran Church, ELCA in Pilger, Nebraska, and St. Luke’s Lutheran Church in Stanton, Nebraska. They live in Pilger.
Annie (Spaulding) ’04 and Eric Hanson ’06, a boy, Nicholas David, born Sept. 21, 2014. Annie is the alumni relations director at the SDSU Alumni Association. Eric is a personal trainer for the Powershop Gym. They live in Brookings.


Marion (Fiedler) Ehrich ’68 represented SDSU and President Chicoine at the installation of Virginia Tech’s 16th president, Dr. T. Sands, on the Blacksburg campus Oct. 17, 2014. Marion has been on the Virginia Tech faculty for more than 30 years. She lives in Blacksburg, Virginia.
Julie A. (Gullickson) Bell ’70/MS ’76 was awarded the title of Professor Emerita of Consumer Sciences at SDSU by the South Dakota Board of Regents. She lives in Brookings.
Sam Heikes ’74 received the North American Pollinator Protection Campaign Farmer-Rancher Award on October 21, 2014 at the 2014 NAPPC Conference VIP Reception, hosted by the USDA in Washington, D.C. He lives in Vermillion.
Elizabeth (Lass) Mittelstaedt ’78 retired in 2012 from the Army Nurse Corps after 34 years of active duty. She is now the Patient Safety Manager at Madigan Army Medical Center in Tacoma, Washington. She lives in Graham, Washington.
Patrick J. Duncan ’82 has written a book called “Last Kings of the Old NFL: The 1969 Minnesota Vikings.” It is based on more than 30 interviews with players from the 1969 Vikings and others from that time in the NFL. He lives in Sioux Falls.
Jerry A. Giese ’84 received the Iowa High School Athletic Association’s Media Award Nov. 20, 2014. He is in his 13th year as a sportswriter for the Sioux City Journal. He lives in Le Mars, Iowa.
Allen S. Hogie ’87/MEd, Brandon Valley High School math teacher, was selected as the 2015 South Dakota Teacher of the Year in October 2014. He lives in Brandon.
Joseph A. Honner ’94/MS ’96 was selected as the recipient of the George Warren Fuller award for his exceptional and extraordinary service to the water supply field. This award was given by the South Dakota America Water Works Association in October 2014. He lives in Sioux Falls.
Dr. Ann L. Wilson ’94 (MS) was awarded the title of Professor Emerita of Teaching, Learning, and Leadership by the South Dakota Board of Regents.
Susen L. Schirmer ’95/MS ’01 was awarded the 2014 Lifetime Achievement Award in School Counseling by the Iowa School Counselor Association (ISCA) at the annual conference held in Des Moines Nov. 3-4, 2014. She lives in Indianola, Iowa.
Raymond A. Harris ’03 recently passed the Florida Bar examination and is now licensed to practice law in the State of Florida. He also recently completed the Institute of Continuing Legal Education’s Probate and Estate Planning Certificate Program. He lives in Holt, Michigan.
Jane B. (Tschetter) Lucas ’07 was recently promoted to legislative director for U.S. Senator John Thune. She lives in Washington, D.C.
Andrew L. Ofstehage ’08 has recently been awarded a Fulbright U.S. Student Program grant for his research in the anthropology department at the University of North Carolina. He lives in Carrboro, North Carolina.


1929 M. Louise DeLong
1932 Robert D. Mitchell
1940 Wendell W. Andrews
1941 George H. Chaffee
1944 Cecilia (Moriarty) Multhauf
1944 Lois M. (Overgaard) Bormann
1946 Coralyn James
1946 Robert M. Westergard
1947/MS ’62 Marion L. Kamstra
1948 Cathleen A. (Linahan) Curry
1948 & 1951 Donald M. Little
1949 Harlyn D. Holzwarth
1949 James W. Crothers
1949 Lloyd M. Beckman
1950 Harold L. Keeler
1950 Neil C. Lien
1951 James A. Long
1951 Lyall D. Engelstad
1951 Mimi A. (Hathaway) Robinson
1951 Patricia A. (Wilkins) Halliday
1951 Virgil H. Flesher
1951/MS ’64 Joseph J. Bonnemann
1952 Kermit C. Torve
1953 Leone (Solem) Franze
1954/MS ’62 Donald C. Ingemann
1954 (MS) John E. Thompson
1954/MS ’60 Delwyn Dearborn
1955 James B. Schroeder
1955 Keith L. Johnson
1957 Douglas J. Becker
1957 Carney C. Nelson
1957/MS ’58 Neal O. Morgan
1958 Harold D. Koch
1958 Luther B. Severtson
1959 Dalton R. Show
1959 Derrald A. Hildebrandt
1959 Gordon A. Mettler
1959 John W. Lightfield
1959 Larry G. Rowe
1959 Vernon G. Olson
1960 Audrey A. Cornish
1960 Carol L. (Roelofs) Creson
1960 David A. Rykhus
1960 Gerald F. Bowles
1960 Janet A. Peterson
1960 Ralph E. Nachtigal
1961 Elmer D. Moeller
1961 Lorne R. Tilberg
1961 Robert E. Yrjanson
1962 Kenneth D. Biever
1963 John A. Bunkers
1963 Larry R. Ching
1965 Charlotte A. (Sieh) Dokken
1965 Jack M. Fifield
1966 Marvin Buechler
1967 Rebecca L. (Overturf) Russell
1967 Richard D. Shearer
1967 William L. Jewett
1968 Karon S. Boswell
1968 Leon K. Preszler
1968 Marian A. Henjum
1968 Richard J. Allen
1968 (MS) Robert J. Wilson
1968 Sherrie (Hill) Meyer
1968 William D. Pankratz
1969 Colleen M. (Ream) Rockers
1969 (MS) Richard L. Krenke
1969 Steven F. Schweitzer
1971 (MS) James E. Cordts
1971 Diana R. (Yager) McCann
1972 (MS) Michael T. Chesney
1972 Larry D. Sills
1972(MEd) Dominic Stoltz
1973 Christie A. (Carlson) Risty
1973 Lynn E. Numsen
1973 Lynn E. Singrey
1975 Marty G. Timm
1978 (MS) Jeffrey T. Spielman
1978 Mr. Galen Keller
1979 Cynthia G. Lass
1979 Mary S. (Svoboda) Watkins
1980 Mary B. Rathbun
1980 Mary K. (Brehmer) Krause
1981 (MS) Pamela J. (Johnson) Murra
1982/MS ’87 Mark L. Amundson
1984 John D. Washenberger
1986 Kevin D. Gross
1986 Kevin E. De Berg
1992 Robert J. Coyle
1995 David J. Smith
1997 Joel L. Larson
1997 Jon M. Eldeen
1997 Wanda (Simmons) Smith
1998 Brett D. Kurth
1999 Doug D. Hauf
2000 James M. Dobson
2003 Jesse M. Root
Janet M. (Bichler) Adams (Faculty)
Jan J. Vandever (Faculty)
Lanita Arndt (Faculty)
Phillip E. Plumart (Faculty)

Leave a Reply